Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee An Indian History of the American West

Edition: Anniv.
Format: Paperback
Pub. Date: 2001-01-23
Publisher(s): Holt Paperbacks
List Price: $17.00

Buy Used

In Stock

Rent Textbook

Select for Price
There was a problem. Please try again later.

New Textbook

We're Sorry
Sold Out


We're Sorry
Not Available

This item is being sold by an Individual Seller and will not ship from the Online Bookstore's warehouse. The Seller must confirm the order within two business days. If the Seller refuses to sell or fails to confirm within this time frame, then the order is cancelled.

Please be sure to read the Description offered by the Seller.


Now a special 30th-anniversary edition in both hardcover and paperback, the classic bestselling history The New York Times called "Original, remarkable, and finally heartbreaking....Impossible to put down" Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee is Dee Brown's eloquent, fully documented account of the systematic destruction of the American Indian during the second half of the nineteenth century. A national bestseller in hardcover for more than a year after its initial publication, it has sold almost four million copies and has been translated into seventeen languages. For this elegant thirtieth-anniversary edition -- published in both hardcover and paperback -- Brown has contributed an incisive new preface. Using council records, autobiographies, and firsthand descriptions, Brown allows the great chiefs and warriors of the Dakota, Ute, Sioux, Cheyenne, and other tribes to tell us in their own words of the battles, massacres, and broken treaties that finally left them demoralized and defeated. A unique and disturbing narrative told with force and clarity, Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee changed forever our vision of how the West was really won.

Author Biography

Dee Brown has written more than twenty-five books on American history and the West. He lives in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Table of Contents

List of Illustrations
Preface xv
Introduction xvii
``Their Manners are Decorous and Praiseworthy''
The Long Walk of the Navahos
Little Crow's War
War Comes to the Cheyennes
Powder River Invasion
Red Cloud's War
``The Only Good Indian is a Dead Indian''
The Rise and Fall of Donehogawa
Cochise and the Apache Guerrillas
The Ordeal of Captain Jack
The War to Save the Buffalo
The War for the Black Hills
The Flight of the Nez Perces
Cheyenne Exodus
Standing Bear Becomes a Person
``The Utes Must Go!''
The Last of the Apache Chiefs
Dance of the Ghosts
Wounded Knee
Notes 451(14)
Bibliography 465(10)
Index 475

An electronic version of this book is available through VitalSource.

This book is viewable on PC, Mac, iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, and most smartphones.

By purchasing, you will be able to view this book online, as well as download it, for the chosen number of days.

A downloadable version of this book is available through the eCampus Reader or compatible Adobe readers.

Applications are available on iOS, Android, PC, Mac, and Windows Mobile platforms.

Please view the compatibility matrix prior to purchase.